Guilty ( Swift Expression Challenge)

Posted: December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Over on Swift Expression Blog, she has a series of Challenges ( which I will be doing and posting on my blog as per challenge rules). This Challenge is the Guilty Challenge .For this challenge simple answer the following question:

Does the feeling of guilt serve a purpose? If so, what is it? If it serves no purpose, why not?”

Guilt if a very powerful emotion.
Horribly-Ashamed-300x293

I think as with any emotion its power can be on any side of the spectrum( bad or good). I do believe as human beings we have a responsibility to work to learn what that purpose is. As with anything, if an emotion is all consuming, it will therefore bear negative repercussions. But, what kind of human being would we be if we did not access and address and therefore sufficiently mold our actions according to our emotions? Therefore, I believe guilt is just another life experience and emotion that DOES have a purpose. However, it is up to us, the individual, to learn and grow and figure out what it is. We can let it be a negative motivator… be so grieved and feel so bad it leaves us to NOT live life or pursue dreams or otherwise restrict our life and actions. However, we can feel guilt and choose to use that very human emotion to act as a better person, use the essence of that emotion as motivation to make things right. Give back. Overcome obstacles. Try harder. Be better.
When I feel guilt, I think the purpose of my emotion is stop and think. Access the life challenge and my actions and conclude what I did, what I didn’t do, how I can do better.  Is there any misplaced pride in the way? It’s one of those situations that I use as a “karma check”… kind of like a reality check or a report card when you are in school.  We all have emotions and most people dismiss them as everyday ordinary things. However, the purpose should be to learn and grow from each and every emotion, guilt included.

*Image found on google, googled “ashamhed” and when this image popped up I clicked on it and it let me to this website :
http://notthisgirl.com/yourjourney/horribly-ashamed
Quick peep around the site, and it’s a little dated, but a really awesome site, a site to share your story of sexual assault. Will definitely book mark this site.

Leave a Reply

