Happy New Year!

Posted: January 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I have one thought every January 1st… how long will it take me this year to stop writing 2012 and start writing 2013 when i write the date? Lol.
Happy New Year Everyone!
new_years_20130101085901_320_240

New-Yorks-Times-SquareAlot more negative than positive happened 2012 but, the positive in it made it all worth while and shined bright enough to light up the dark. 2012 was a difficult year but 2011 was worse since that was the year my hubby was first diagnosed with Brain Cancer.  He has come a long way down the path of recovery and that alone made this a marvelous year.

This year is starting off on a good note. I’m in better health thanks to my diet thing from the summer. I’ve met and gained some valuable friends here on word press. I have my little retail job. I partied it up last night too. The ball dropped at midnight and by 12:10 I was suffering from alcohol induced regurgitation …lol. What a way to start the new year. But, it was great. I’m only a little bit hung over 😉 Plus, i get to spend the day being coddled in bed with the hubby.

Every year I make a resolution. Sometimes i follow through with them, most of the time I do not. So this year I didn’t make a list of resolutions. I set goals for myself.

In no particular order these are my goals

possible

1) Find another job
My job has officially decided to keep me, but it’s real limited hours. One – two days a week about 10-15 hours.  For several months until the next batch of holidays when things get busy again (around March they said).
2)Save money for the future
Yes, I am young, but i need to start planning ahead. Retirement funds. Medical funds. While the hubby has health insurance now, with his cancer he will need life-long insurances. Sure, when I have a career I’m sure we can get on a plan and what not but, there is always out-of-pocket expenses . This has to be factored into our savings which is non-existent at this time. Also, I want to have a dental fund….my parents teeth are jacked. My mother has caps, no real teeth. My teeth are good now, but they are so sensitive. I flossed yesterday, very quickly and gently and not even going deep( ate ribs, was just checking to make sure I didn’t have stuff suck between my teeth) and my gums were sore for hours. I don’t want to live pay check to pay check.

3) Get back into school
I think i’m ditching the plan of getting a certification that is universal and transferable to different states, like medical billing and coding. I think I’m just going to go back to school for my BA. I wanted to get a certification to get a better paying job where i can afford to do payment plans to pay my way through college. I didn’t want to do student loans. But, I had a talk with my mother and she was like it’s just wasting time. And i feel the same way in my heart. Precious time. We figure If i get back into school I can finish in 2-3 years depending on the major i pick for my BA around the same time my parents are moving to North Carolina. That way, I have the choice of  relocation with them, to Texas with the hubby’s family or staying behind in NY. With a BA it won’t be easy, but its more likely in getting a CAREER  vs a job and a better chance of being independent and overall giving me choices and options.  Plus, i love school! I want to go all the way to PHD.
4) Have a concrete plan to becoming independent
I need more than this list of goals. I need to do research, research schools. Research job markets. Track job openings. And i also need to act out some of these goals.. ie saving. So, i have the goals I need to plan and act accordingly. Set time limits.

5) Drive ( I do have  a driving license but the last time i drove was 3 years ago, the day of my road test).

6) Get back on my health thing
See my Diet Blog.

7) Write in my journal, write on my blog and improve my writing

8) Read more

9)Make a difference
I want to volunteer more. It’s been a long time.

10) Stop smoking.
I have quit several times before, the longest was over a year …before my hubby got sick and through the bulk of his treatment. I picked it up again when I was on vacation visiting the in-laws  and the hubby told me to go for it, have my vices while I am young. But, i have real desire to quit this time, for good. I’m disgusted with it. Disgusted with the wasted money. But what really was my reality check, I was shopping in my store and I saw this really incredible Breast Cancer Awareness tee-shirt. It was beautiful! I then realized it would be a special level of douche -ness if I wore the shirt. I smoke. Smoking and wearing a cancer awareness shirt? That’s a big f you to all people battling Cancer. Yes, my hubby has cancer but he has a different perspective with it all and he is entitled to it. He feels regret he never part took in casual smoking, experimentation with weed and stuff and rarely even drank. He was so straight edge. He seemingly got Cancer for no other reason but genetics. He believes if you are going to get cancer, there is no stopping it, like with him. So, might as well do the things you enjoy when we have our health and youth. I understood this and it did ease my feelings. But, seeing that beautiful tee-shirt on the rack and having to leave it there and walk away…. i was just disgusted. There was no comfort for that.

DP0926201220513079C.tif DP0726201213033510M.tif

I couldn’t find the shirt I found in store, but these are two other ones. So pretty.
P.s. all images plucked from google images!

Comments
  1. C. R. says:

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Good luck with your 10 goals. And happy new year to you too!

    Like

  3. I absolutely love your website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you make this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own personal blog and want to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

