Blogging Questions

Posted: January 12, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to organize my blog a bit.

But, I have a few questions.

I wanted to erase all my “Categories” …way back when i first started blogging I thought Categories were tags and I would just label it something creative. Majority of my posts though are just “Uncatogerized” .

SO, If i do that do i have too manually go to each post and edit it with the desire category? Also, I wanted to create more pages. But would that be redundant if i go through with the categories.

I was kind of thinking of making a my diary page, then cancer-related page, then Swift Expression having its own page since I part take in the challenges. Then a book page for book reviews and artys stuff.

Just throwing some ideas out there. I’m kind of attached to my dark gloomy notebook looking layout so Im not sure about changing appearances yet.

Also, I have a free wordpress account so from my understanding that limits tweaking too?

Let me know what you think of my ideas, any suggestions and of course any HOW-TO’s.

Comments
  1. tfaswift says:

    Hi there Tasha, you can actually do a lot with a free theme. Each one is different but there’s usually lots of flexibility even so, certainly based on what you’ve said anyway. It’s not like you want to have a different background colour on each post or change the style of your fonts etc., so you don’t need to pay to get what you’re looking for.

    It’s a bit hard for me to think how to do what you’re wanting with the categories from “this side” of the blog, (i.e. not from the inside, the dashboard) but I think the safest approach would be to create the new categories that you want first.

    Then as you write new posts, add them to the category (or more than one if there’s an overlap) that you like before publishing.

    Over time, you can go back through your old posts and change their category to whichever new one is appropriate. This can be done using the “quick edit” option in your Dashboard-Posts-All Posts. It’s much faster than using the regular Edit option.

    If you try to make a new Category and it says you can’t use that name because there is already a “slug” with that name, then this is a pain in the neck. It sounds weird and I’m still not sure what purpose a slug serves, but I do know how to get rid of it so you can use that name for your category.

    For example, suppose you try to make a category called “Diary” and you get a message that you can’t use that name because there’s already a “slug” with that name. There is probably a faster way to do this, but the only way I know how to get around it is to find the post or posts which have that slug. You can see a post’s “slug” in the quick-edit option underneath the title.

    So for “diary” you’d need to find the post/s with a slug called “diary”. Usually the slug is the same as the title of the post, so just do a search in your posts for the word diary. Then check the slug for each post. When you find some with the word diary in the slug, just delete the slug. I’ve deleted a bunch if slugs, and it hasn’t done me any harm.

    Once you’ve deleted all the slugs with that name, you can create your new Category called “Diary”.

    If new categories aren’t appearing on your homepage, then you can let me know and I’ll tell you how to add them to your menu. But hopefully they will just automatically appear.

    You can obviously make any pages that you like and they are great for permanent (unchanging or seldom changing) material, e.g. displaying Awards or explaining how things work on your blog, or giving background info. But for stuff that you keep adding to, Categories are probably best. People won’t keep going back to your pages to see if anything has changed. They usually just look for new posts once they’ve seen the pages.

    If you have an Award page and you get a new Award, then you could display it permanently on your Award page, and also write a post about it so everyone knows.

    Any theme which has a custom menu is great (and there are free themes like that – Rebecca has one) because then you can add your pages and categories together along the top where they are clearly visible instead of having only the pages obvious at the top and categories in a pull down menu at the side.

    A few themes have TWO custom menus so you can have all your pages at the top in one place and all your categories at the top in a different place. My theme has that, but I’m pretty sure there are at least a couple of free themes that do that too.

    Hope that helps! 🙂

    Like

    • THANK YOU! This was beyond helpful. Well atleast reading this it doesn’t sound too hard and sounds like something I can do… but I reckon when i sit down to do it your going to get a message something along the lines “oppppssss i just deleted ever blog post I made!” …LOL.

      I think your right, categories should be more than suffice. Thanks again for the help! You are THEE best!

      Like

      • tfaswift says:

        You’re welcome! You are very capable and I’m sure you’ll go whizzing along once you get started, and definitely won’t delete all your posts! LOL.

        Like

  2. Horus says:

    nice explanation – I guess most of the queries are covered – just wanted to clear the “slug” thingy! – Its just a permanent link to a post – hence it picks up the title of the post. Its useful if you or someone else coming to your blog wants to link to a particular post you made – they will use the “slug” to link back to the post ! Thats it !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

