Stronger ( Swift Expression Blog Challenge Winners!)

Posted: March 11, 2013 in Swift Expression
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Remember all those links on facebook and posts I have been posting for the past two weeks to vote for me? Vote for me in the second Swift Expression Blog challenge? Well, the vote is over and the results are in!

There was two winners.

G.

and ME!

There was a tie and I”m more than happy someone else won too.
The prizes were …okay give me a second to figure out how to do that little L symbol thingy…. okay I don’t know how so I’m copying and pasting the symbol LOL

£10.00 was the prize for an electronic gift certificate or the equivalent in your currency. On top of that, the same amount will be donated to your choice of charity. Also, 10 shutter shock images.

Quite a load  right! And all this went to two of us.Tilda is very kind and generous!

I picked out the ten images and you will be seeing them in upcoming blog challenge posts! I chose to forfeit the gift certificate part, telling Tilda to either go out for tea with her husband and have a little quiet time or double up on the charity. Being so generous she doubled up on the charity AND round it up for an even USD amount. She even posted  pictures of the confirmation messages.

Now, the reason I’m writing this post is tell you not only the charity i choose but WHY.

I choose The Seattle Children’s Hospital.

You all know my fiancee has cancer. What you may or may not know is I have a cyber friend who lost her sister to cancer ( so young!) and that crushed my heart.  Children and illness is one of the most devastating things in the whole wide world to me. Sure, adults and loved ones suffering is heart breaking and painful and I don’t mean to belittle your grief. But, it’s so unfair when a child is sick from early on.

When my dad was hospitalized during his open heart surgery, I would have to cut through the children’s lobbyy/ wing of the hospital to go to his intensive care room. I’ve seen and met some of the most outstanding HAPPIEST children there. They were there, in hospital gowns and oxygen masks yet held the most joy I have ever seen.

Children with cancer especially are some of the most inspirational people I have ever met. I have witnessed what an adult goes through with cancer, how debilitating it can be. Yet a child goes through it to and still have the upbeat passion and positivity. They are an inspiration. They are fighters. They are strong.

I saw this video on youtube months ago and I was so in awe of the children in the video, I cried. No, really. I cried. Not an “awee” and my eyes got watery. I snot cried when watching it.

So, for these beautiful fighters, keep up the good fight. And too all the fighters out there in the world, I’m routing in your corner!


P.s. please do stop by Tilda’s Blog, Swift Expression and check out the blog challenge. The new challenge series is called The Trendsetter and there is no more votes or polls, just solely a bunch of doing these amazing writing and exchanging and even arts and crafts! Join in on the fun !

Comments
  1. tfaswift says:

    That’s a beautiful post, Tasha. I really feel for you and your passion/compassion. The best people are the ones who “snot cry” for others. That’s what I believe. Those are the people who actually do something and make a difference in this world.

    Yes, children are amazing in the way they can find something to be positive about even in the most dreadful circumstances. It’s that kind of wonderful childlike quality that we tend to lose as adults, always focusing on the negative and giving in so easily. If only we could get that back.

    Thanks for being a caring person. The world needs as many as it can get!

    Like

  2. […] Stronger ( Swift Expression Blog Challenge Winners!) (cornerofconfessions.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

