The Witching Hour ( Swift Expression Blog Challenge)

Posted: March 20, 2013 in Swift Expression, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

shutterstock_57821659

This post is in response to the Blog Challenge by Tilda Swift at her blog, Swift Expression. It is my entry for number 3.If any of my readers derives inspiration from this post and would like to do something similar on their own blog, please provide full credit to the owner of the original Blog Challenge (as stated above) to abide by copyright laws.

3. For fibre arts, you may choose either theme –

  • Enchanted, or
  • The Witching Hour

I don’t knit or sew. Hell, I can’t even sew on a button. I can’t even tighten a button that is already sewn on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The fabulous Rebecca gave a Teddy Bear a Bondage Make Over.  So, that’s making me think a little outside of the box.

How bout re-purposing items? I’m pretty nifty at that.

For instance, A seashell. I use a seashell to hold my discarded jewelry. I don’t wear much but I tend to wear the same 3or 4 pair of earrings. If you’re like me, most people come home at the end of the day and don’t put things away in their designated places. I have several jewelry boxes. When I clean at the end of the week I put all the jewelry away in their respective places. But, for the quick and lazy? I sea shell it.  So instead of tossing my jewelry and loose change on a nightstand , desk, or shelf. I just toss them in the sea shell.
DSCN1614

So, for this challenge. I will compile a few ideas. This isn’t cheating is it?  I’m going off both themes  but mostly The Witching Hour.  From Wikipedia this is the definition of The Witching Hour:

“the term witching hour refers to the time of day when supernatural creatures such as witches, demons, and ghosts are thought to appear and to be at their most powerful and black magic to be most effective. It may be used to refer to any arbitrary time of bad luck or in which something bad has a greater likelihood to occur”

Idea one- Aging  paper.

I’ve done this before. For a history project.  First take the blank piece of paper, usually computer printer paper and crumple it up! Once you unfold …. Burn the edges! Ever so delicately and don’t burn the house down.  You can use a regular ol lighter.  Lightly place the flame to the edge of the paper and try to tilt the paper so the flame snakes along the edges only.  Don’t let the flame get big or progress. Out it and relight the edges. The trick is outing the flame. Remember blowing on the flame ( air) feeds a fire. So you need to blow the flame out quickly before it consumes the whole paper. It may take several tries. And a fire extinguisher. I like to add a few dabs of coffee too the middle ( soak a napkin with coffee and smear it about , use a blow dryer to dry the paper). And folks there you have a prop to use to follow the haunting theme.

Idea two- Dog Costume.
I use tee shirts from when I was skinny to dress up my dog. Or my niece’s old clothes that she has outgrew. I use ribbons to tie the sleeve parts so not to impede her little doggie paws. I tie the end of the shirt by her tail with a hair tie so it doesn’t hang baggy around her tummy and risk her back paws getting stuck in the end of the shirt. Last Year (2011) Halloween I made my dog a rocker using a grim reaper/biker tee.( I couldn’t find the picture) She has natural black accents of her nose and her eyes so the look was awesome. This year (2012) I put a pretty purple tee shirt and  pink ribbons and she was a diva  that she already is( 2013 Halloween hasn’t happened yet). I still had the shirt in her tote bag so I threw it on then snap a few pictures since I couldn’t find the outfit that applies to this theme. At least you get to see a cute doggy!
. DSCN1620DSCN1617

Idea three-  Scarves!
I used to have a collection of black scarves. I  just upturned my closet looking for one but it must be packed in the garage or donated during my binge cleaning spree over the summer. But, I used to use black scarves for everything.  I had a sheer  square-ish scarf  that I would fold in half diagonally to make it almost triangle-y. I would twist it so the triangle part laid around one of my waists. I used this for many Halloween outfits. Or during my Goth phases.  I also used frilly black scarfs as head wraps to complete the witch-y look ( or again my goth look).  Or I used them not for a full head wrap but as a head band. Sometimes I would use a small scarf as a hair tie or braid them in my hair. Whether you are going for a enchanted or witching hour a scarf is a must! You can do so much more than simply wrap it around your neck!  It makes for good bondage too, right Rebecca? 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love both themes for this challenge but I have always been fascinated with Witches. Supernatural in general too. Just the other day I was longing for pure black clothing and rocker spikes and black heeled boots. I find that look mysterious and sexy. I miss it.  So for this fiber art challenge, yeah I can’t knit or sew or make pretty things with fabrics. But, I can multi-purpose items for a desired effect. And that’s really what it’s all about. Creating. We create things because we either have a passion for it or find it therapeutic in some way. But mostly because we desire a certain affect from creating the item. Maybe, we can’t find something appealing to our taste, or simply it just needs a little something extra. Industries mass produce, but we are all individuals. Thus, we have fiber arts. We can custom make or customize pre-existing items to be more our own.
I always believed that a “witching hour” exists. There must be a time when logic is at it’s weakest and we are open to something grander, something unknown. I like to think of the witching hour as a time when one can let their guard down. Kind of like on Halloween it’s OKAY to dress up and be bold and talk about supernatural beings and be superstitious. It’s a time to believe again. I feel the witching hour is a time when just maybe a lonely person can step out of the dark and into the light. Maybe it’s the only time for them when they get to see light at all.

Comments
  1. tfaswift says:

    This is such a great post Tasha! 🙂 I was smiling the whole time. Your interpretation of the question and theme/s is so creative! Fibre is fibre, whether it’s yarn, thread, a scarf, tee shirt or whatever. I *really* love the tee shirt outfit you made for Tasha! What a clever idea to tie up the sleeves like that and use a hair band to make it snug against her tummy. That’s brilliant! I also love your new word “triangle-y” and will definitely be borrowing that in the future! LOL. 🙂

    How interesting that you are drawn to the colour black in that way, I mean, head to toe. I used to wear that a lot when I was younger and then it just changed. But I really loved to wear all black in my twenties … I never really thought about it until now. I hope you get a chance to do that again soon! I think it’s important that we wear whatever we feel we need to. Our unconscious mind plays a powerful role in drawing us to certain clothes and colours, and there’s always a reason for it. A wonderful post and thank you so much! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it 😀 Bianca was a little annoyed with me after I dressed her up lol.
      You know what i think my clothing issue is? Restrictions. At work we can dress casual in jeans and tee shirts and such but it’s supposed to be business casual so plain clothing, nothing revealing obviously, no shirts with sayings or graphics. I usually dress that way most days but not having the choice? I just want to put on the loudest shirt I have and wear spikes LOL. I have controls issues I know. Tell me to do something and I shall do the opposite. Rebel to the core even when it makes no sense lol.

      Like

      • tfaswift says:

        Gosh that’s how I feel a lot of the time – tell me to do something and I do the opposite! LOL. I never thought of myself as a “rebel”. Hmm, I think I shall start calling myself that! It sounds a lot better than “control freak” which is the usual feedback I get! 🙂

        Shame about the work clothes, but I guess it’s usually like that. Need to have some fun on a day off and get all glammed up the way you like. 😉

        Like

  2. […] The Witching Hour ( Swift Expression Blog Challenge). […]

    Like

  3. I love burning paper. So much lol. Sometimes burn my canvases too. It’s just fun. I also like melting pingpong balls and crisp packets… although I’m sure you’re not supposed to with the fumes lol. Pyromaniac on the loose!

    Yes lol. Scarves will do nicely for bondage activities. Belts are also quite useful both for tying people up and… well lol

    Like

  4. […] The Witching Hour ( Swift Expression Blog Challenge) (cornerofconfessions.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

