Technical World

Posted: July 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

My blogging friends.

I trust you all have been well? I know I have a tad bit quiet but i still read and poke around your blog posts although I may not comment or like. I’m afraid I’m becoming terribly anti-social. I have been on a reading binge for the past two months.

One of my new year resolutions was to get back into reading ( and writing). I created a goodreads account and joined a challenge to read 100 books for 2013. The first month and half I was breezing through the challenge. Then, i stopped reading for a few months. Last month for my birthday I was gifted books ( really what else would I ask for as a gift? lol) so i started reading again.

But, when i went to my good reads account it said I fell behind in my reading challenge and if contuined at this pace I would not make the 100 books deadline.So that hurt my nerd bookworm pride and i jumped back into reading. Since then I have  re-read the whole true blood series, i read Richelle’s Mead new novel  and the conclusion to the Soul Screamers series. I also am almost complete with the The Mortal Instruments series ( actually I’m on the Infernal devices spin off series Clock Work Princess) . To say the least I have been secluding myself and reading in my spare time.

Which is a big reason I have not been actively blogging much.

One of my friends just told me he was goingo n a camping trip and I asked if he will have cell reception. He replied no, but he is bringing a book and some paper and pen to write as a distraction if he gets bored.

It made me think of myself. I don’t have to go to the wild to get back to nature and unplug. I do it willing.

When I’m out and about my phone is in my pocket. When I’m on break at work I either take my break with a co-worker and TALK aloud, not text or tweet. My phone doesn’t even have internet connection. OR i read my book.

When I’m on the bus, i gaze out the window and people watch.

When I’m walking i dont have headphones on, i listen to the sounds of city life, talk to strangers.

When I’m home, i barely log onto my online accounts. My email is terribly backed up.

I barely watch TV anymore.

Instead, i pull out my books and loose myself in the worlds created. A few times i tried to find a movie to watch with the hubby but in comparison to my books, I just could not find a movie to watch better than the movie playing in my head.

I jokingly tell people I’m going to go back to school and become a doctor specializing in neck and spine because when you are out and about that is all you see, people hunched over on their phones, tablets, ipads.

I always have been a tad reclusive. But i guess what I am trying to say, in today’s high tech world, its hard to see the appeal of it all.
You want me to leave this magical wonderland, put it aside to socialize with you when all you do it text and tweet and hunch over mechanical devices?

Yeah, i need a better offer than that when I can so easily attain magic and wonder of the mind.

Comments
  1. Cheri says:

    Welcome back Tasha!

    Like

  2. Katie Renee says:

    Hahaha I’m glad someone else has that problem. I sit down with a book and then the day is over. As for being “unplugged” it has made me a great deal happier. Less to keep up with, worry about, and agonize over. I hope everything is going great with you and keep reading until you make that challenge goal! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

