I haven’t a clue

Posted: June 22, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I haven’t a clue of what to post. So, fair warning, this is a random post.

So, work has been heating up. My department, is technically no longer a department. However, 3 of the original team remains and we run and maintain it like a department. This means, there is one person at a time in Levi’s.  It sounds like it’s efficient right? Well, hardly. Two of us are doing the work a 8 person team could barely maintain. ( One person works closing so there is no real work getting done, just orderliness which is a big thing, not to be degraded)  Any day, at any given time, you can find me trying to redo a section, fill in, restock, size, re fold, fix the floor plan, manage the back stock/stock room. Alongside maintaining the fitting room, emptying it out, putting away the clothing customers leave tossed all over the floor. But, customers first. I greet and assist every customer.  It doesn’t end there. I help the neighboring section and have to help line bust/cashier and I have to help cover their lunches and breaks. Yet, when I go on lunch or break or cover for them my area is unattended and it makes for a bigger mess and more hassle when I return. Most days I dread to even take a lunch  break.  Majority of the store also has their own replenishment team. That team takes the stock out of the stock room, off the trucks, and puts it out on the floor. They don’t do that for Levi’s. I do it of course.

customer service, retail, stock

Source

So just combine all of that together and that is my work day. It’s alot of work and I”m always running around like a chicken with its head cut off while the rest of the store are walking around all la de fucking da folding the same shirt for ten minutes.

Plus, the store is getting pretty busy with the holidays ( mothers day and fathers day and summer shopping). Kids are almost done with school and going on summer break. So that’s an added stress. Some school kids tagged up my fitting room. In big bright red spray paint.

Most days, I don’t mind. I love my department that isn’t really a department anymore. I love that Levi’s jean is MY area. When things are good, I can tell you where that one jean, the last size left, is and retrieve it for you in under 30 seconds. When i get new markdowns, i often don’t even need the invoice i can just lap the floor and grab the items on the list and price them. I love being in charge of everything and I love people come to me for everything. I love the independence and I love the compliments. I even love my regular customers, even the wacky ones.

I get a customer that comes in ever two months or so. He likes to buy 501 , any color, any size.  The catch? They cannot be made in Egypt or any middle eastern country. Why? Because he’s from there and he sells them for double, triple the price.

How do you tell where they are made? The little white tag inside the jeans. Yeah, I was not sitting there emptying my shelves reading little tags for this guy in the middle of a work day. Sometimes when I get a new shipment, tags are often sticking out when fresh off the truck so i skim through them and if i notice the country of origin is different I may place it aside and keep a special pile in the back stock of the shelves. But, that doesn’t last long, piles get messed up daily

I get a lady that wants black 501 jeans size 38 waist and 36 length. But she wants it with a black Levi’s logo leather patch ( opposed to the regular tan color).  Levi’s typically only have the black patch when its a special edition or if there are two similar models for the same style. I cannot custom make the jeans.

I got a new visual display. Some random model in a decked out in Levis gear, a demin jacket and distressed jeans. I noticed the picture display right away and immediately complained. We do not sell those items in the picture and I knew customers would ask me for those  items.  Not much we can do about it though so I was left with customers whining for those items all day.

Overall, work is very fulfilling for me. Everyday is an adventure. I like being relied upon and looked to for assistance and help.

Because of the whole Levi’s not being a department debacle I work almost exclusively morning/opening shifts. I work one day, not quite  a closing shift, a late mid shift where I get out at 8 or 830 or so.

They just need to have me there to get the work done. I did get an increase in hours, bout 30 hours a week. My supervisor is trying to push for me to be full time.

working-in-retail-gets-me-every-time-65621

Alot of working retail is simply politics and poor management. My store, specifically, has people that work there for years and years. However, the word work is used liberally. So many people put in limited availability and the store honors it.  The store needs to clean house. If you are not pulling your weight , it’s not fair to others. I would say a good 70% of the store bullshit most of of their shift and the rest of the 30% work twice, three times as hard. You have so many people that work there and no one when you need them most. Some mornings I open, its literally one person per quad. That’s three people. Then at closing you have 6 or 7 people for each quad? It makes no damn sense.  For fucks sake, on fathers day? I had to ask to work. Why in the world would i, an associate in the men’s department, have to ASK to work for fathers day?  That is a day where every associate you have should be scheduled to work and to work extra. They didn’t even schedule a MEN’S supervisor for the closing shift. If that’s not whacked, I don’t know what is.

Anywho, that’s my ramble. Oh and some stroke of luck. My mother haggled her insurance and they said they can keep me on until the end of the billing cycle which is January! So, I have health insurance for now. I’m free to be sick. Yay!

Comments
  1. Amen, not many understand what we go through. It’s absolutely soul damaging at times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

