Collection. Just Jot It Jan 17th.

Posted: January 17, 2016 in Just Jot It January
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Collection.
books, book, read, reading, dragon, love, imagination

Oh boy. The prompt for today is “collection”. This is in participation of Just Jot It Jan. Please visit Linda’s Blog to join in anytime. http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/17/just-jot-it-january-17th-collection/

Confession, I’m a bit of a hoarder. I collect all kind of things. My big spender: books. I hoard collect books.

How many books do I own?

Welllll

12546097_10205861685521561_586725329_o

This is one shelf. Just one. There is the front rows, and there are even more rows in the back. This shelf alone has about 100 books.

Oh Yeah, the hubby is a collector as well. He collects action figures, car models, comic books, football cards and video games.
So this was our attempted his/her shelving.  One shelf to display his favorite action figures, and one shelf for my books.

books, reading, book, collection, imagination
Then, I have a TV stand and the bottom of the stand is home to about 75 books. Cheat code activated here, I buy volumes or omnibus. So if you want to be technical, I have more than one book in one physical book. Sometimes, the hubby and I agree we can buy one thing each, he’ll get an action figure and I’ll get a book. Well,  I’ll cheat and buy a volume and get three or four books in one. I’m not ashamed. It’s  a loophole in our compromise.   I use the TV stand shelves to hold these bigger books that are volumes or omnibus’.

Then, I took over my dad’s entertainment center in the living room. These hold series that are my favorite or in great condition or series I own the complete set. I would guesstimate about 100-150 books in this location.

Then, I have books in my closet. On the floor of the closet , sorted into stacks of read and  unread. I haven’t counted in awhile but i would guesstimate about 200 books.

I do own a Kindle. Actually, I have two. Let’s not even venture to how many books I have electronically. books, reading, book, read , imagination, love

I still have ever single book from college as well, from literature to textbook. I easily have 100 books from college because I was a nerd and got everything on the reading list. Having a book voucher also helped with that.

And i did donate close to 200 books to the library two( three?) summers ago.  So that cleared out a lot of books.  This was during an angry cleaning spree binge. I acted fast so didn’t have time to think too much . I bagged up a few bags of books and my uncle dropped it off at the library the same day. I think i would dragged the bags back to my closet the next day after my angry cleaning spree. But, the books were already in a new home.

So, i think i can positively say I collect books.

I would have much more if i had the space. I’m simply out of space. I stopped buying hard copies unless it’s to a series I currently own and am staying up to date with.  I just have no where to put any more books.

I prefer reading with hard copies/ paperbacks. I love to read from printed books. I just feel I have to own everything I read. I love having the option of re-reading.  Sometimes, i back track when reading. It’s so much easier to just turn pages to where I want to back track too. And when I’m reading in a frenzy, there’s the extra oomph of furiously turning the pages.

My price possession is having a complete series ( and all in the same format/original artwork!).

books, book, read, reading , imagination, wonder, love I’m a bit obsessed i know.

But, atlas, I have to wave the white flag. I simply have no where to keep hoarding collecting my precious books. So, I’ve been buying mostly kindle books.

Truth be told, I have been having a rough time keeping up with reading. Two years in a row I failed my attempted reading challenge, 100 books.  The first year, I was pretty close at 80 something. Last year, I was no where close about 40 books. This year, I again signed up for the same challenge, I have three books down so far but  i feel i usually would be close to 6 or 7.  The year is young, so we’ll see how my reading challenge goes this year.

So,  yes. I collect. I collected many things over the years. But, books is the only thing that remain ever growing.

 

books, book, read, reading, imagination, wonderland, love

Comments
  1. Lori Carlson says:

    This was a delightful read as I have been a hoarder of books in the past too (may as well call it what it truly is!). At one time, I had well over 2000 books. Unfortunately, one cannot carry that many books on a bus or afford to ship that many books home to a small space when leaving a bad marriage. I had to downsize… massively. I packed up my serial books, precious books of poetry, and a few other randoms and shipped them back home. Now I have maybe 100 books max and no space for more. I too have a kindle. It is full. I will more than likely need to buy a second one. Enjoyed this post more than you can imagine!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Why another book hoarder hello there! We book hoarders have to stick together. I’m glad you enjoyed this post 🙂 and I’m happy you at least managed to save a few precious books during your transition.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Lori Carlson says:

        Yes, some books were just too precious to leave behind… I did leave a 1000 book collection of 60s and 70s gothic novels.. that saddened me, but I’d been collecting them since I was a teenager and felt it was time to move on.. the ex will probably sell them on ebay and make himself some cash… lol

        Like

  2. Aww, books. I so enjoyed your collection story.

    I must have lost 1,000 of my and my father’s books due to being constantly on the move, floods, small apartments, a mother who chucked stuff (dementia) for no apparent reason, and such. So now I have no book shelf — my husband has one for music and bird books. I’ve tucked in a few of mine, and there are a couple of books up in the attic.
    When I taught at university, I told my students, you don’t get tenure until you can fill your office with books. When my contract wasn’t renewed, and I was leaving, I put 90% of my academic books (many given to me by publishers for promotion/teaching) and journals out on a table by the department office with a big sign saying:
    Books — need a good home, loving home. Help yourself. Enjoy. All found homes. It was like rescue books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Smile, I’m glad you enjoyed my book hoarding confession. I’m sorry you lost so many books over the years, but atleast your teaching books found a home. They will countine on educating others for years to come instead of collecting dust.

      Like

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    It was fun reading about your book collection! I’m the same with books…they’re everywhere, and I’m running out of room, but can’t stop getting more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Deb says:

    Oooh,that IS a collection! Isn’t it great to be married to someone who understands you…you keep collecting books,he keeps having his own collection,and happily ever after awaits. I love this post!

    Like

Leave a comment